Questions we are asked about countries, SARs, Islands, Territories

Who decides whether a country is UN member country ?
United Nations

What is SAR ?
SAR means Special Administrative Region. The 2 SARs are from country China and they are Hongkong & Macau

Is Palestein a country ?
Palestine (region), a geographical and historical region in the Middle East
State of Palestine, a modern de jure sovereign state in the Middle East recognized by 136 UN members and with non-member observer state status in the United Nations
Palestinian territories, or occupied Palestinian territories, the West Bank (including East Jerusalem) and the Gaza Strip that are occupied or otherwise under the control of Israel
Palestinian National Authority or the Palestinian Authority, an interim self-government body established in 1994 to govern parts of the territories.

What is a dependent territory ?
A dependent territory, dependent area or dependency is a territory that does not possess full political independence or sovereignty as a sovereign state yet remains politically outside the controlling state's integral area

Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, Ross Dependency

Bouvet Island, Peter I Island, Queen Maud Land

United Kingdom
Anguilla, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Also claimed by Argentina.), Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Legislative Council of Saint Helena, Ascension Island Council and Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos Islands

Overseas territories (uninhabited)
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands : Administered by the Commissioner of South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (who is also the Governor of the Falkland Islands), reporting to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. No permanent population. Also claimed by Argentina.
British Antarctic Territory : Administered by the Commissioner of the British Antarctic Territory, reporting to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. No permanent population. The UK's Antarctic claim.

Sovereign Base Areas
Akrotiri, Dhekelia : Administered by the Commander of British Forces Cyprus, reporting to the Ministry of Defence. Permanent Cypriot population, as well as British military personnel and their families.

Crown dependencies
Bailiwick of Guernsey : Responsibility for defence, international representation, and good government rests with the United Kingdom. Though, the Parliament of the United Kingdom can legislate on their behalf, if it deem necessary.
Bailiwick of Jersey, Isle of Man