Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
Mumbai Suburban District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the Mumbai Suburban district

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

District At A Glance
Declared as Independent District w.e.f. 1st October, 1990, as a consequent of the bifurcation of the Greater Mumbai into two revenue districts namely, Mumbai City & Mumbai Suburban. Prior to this , Mumbai Suburban was the part of Mumbai City District.

Population wise, one of the largest district in the country. The current population is 85.87 Lakhs.

Area wise, it is the second smallest district in Maharashtra State. It's geographical area is 369 Sq Kms.

The District Headquarters is located in Bandra(E).

Administratively it comes under Konkan Division.

Mumbai Suburban District has 3 Talukas/Tahsils namely, Andheri, Borivali and Kurla . It has 87 villages.

The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla and upto Trombay Creek.

This District has 4 Parliamentary Constituencies and 26 Assembly Constituencies.

Many important places have adorned the beauty of this district like Mount Marry Church, Kanheri Caves, Jogeshwari Caves, Fantasy Land, Essel world, Water Kingdom, Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Aarey Colony, Film city , Santacruz Airport, Sahar International Airport, Tulsi Lake, Vihar Lake, Powai Lake, Mithi River, Dahisar River, Poiser & Oshiwara River, INS Hamla , Indian Institute of Technology , Powai, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Rashtriya Chemicals & Fertilizers, Hindustan & Bharat Perolium Refineries.

Mithi River : Mithi River originates in the Vihar Lake area, flows southwards and through the Bandra-Kurla Complex, and finally meets Arabian Sea at Mahim bay.

For a large part of its southern course it is influenced by tidal action. It has a total aerial length of 13.5 km and catchments area of 7295 ha that covers parts of eastern and western suburbs. A 3.5 km stretch passes through the Bandra-Kurla Complex which is planned and developed by the MMRDA.

In the year 1734 Mumbai & its nearby area was under the control of Portuguese. Thereafter Mumbai Island (Bombay Island) was gifted to the Queen of England in the year about 1760-61. The Vashi creek is situated on the North side and Mahim Causeway is lying on the South side. On the western side, there is Arabian sea and on the eastern side, the boundary of Thane District. This administrative unit forms the limit s of Bombay suburban District known as Salesette and was the part of Goa which was under the control of Portuguese up to 1771-72 , the Britishers took over control of the region of this area.

In 1871 , the Thane district was carved out of the east side of Konkan and Portion of Bombay Island then known as Taluka South Salesette, Northern Division. In the year 1970, 50 villages from Taluka Salesette were withdrawn and independent Bandra Mahal was created.

In the year 1920, the Salesette Taluka was divided into two parts known as South Salesette Taluka and North Salesette Taluka. Basically Salesette Taluka consisted of 84 villages which were situated from Bandra to Dahisar and Kurla to Mulund. Thereafter , in year 1920, the Mumbai Sd was created consisting of 84 villages of South Salesette Taluka and North Salesette Taluka. At that time, some villages were withdrawn from Thane district and included in Mumbai Suburban District & South Salesette Taluka was divided into three talukas viz Andheri, Borivali & Kurla..

Hectares of land have been reclaimed from shallow creeks & marshy lands. The agricultural activities have been disappeared & Multistoried/Structures have taken place
and some portion of land have been occupied by unauthorized Slum/Zopadpatti.