Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
Dehradun District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the Dehradun district

Brief About Dehradun District
According to Skanda Purana, Dun formed part of the region called Kedar  Khand.

It  was included in the kingdom of Ashoka by the end of the 3rd  century  B.C.

It  is  revealed by history that for centuries the region formed part  of  the Garhwal kingdom with some interruption from Rohillas. For about two  decades till 1815 it was under the occupation of the Gorkhas.  In April 1815  Gorkhas were  ousted from Garhwal region  and Garhwal was annexed by the British.  In that  year  the  area now comprising tehsil Dehra Dun was  added  to  district Saharanpur.  In 1825, however, it was transferred to the Kumaon Division.  In 1828, Dehra Dun and Jaunsar Bhabar were placed under the charge of a  separate Deputy  Commissioner and in 1829, the Dehra Dun district was transferred  from the  Kumaon  Division to  the Meerut Division.  In 1842, Dun was  attached  to Saharanpur  district and placed under an officer subordinate to the  Collector of the district but since 1871 it is being administered as separate  district. In  1968 the district was taken out from Meerut division and included  in  the Garhwal Division.


 Main languages spoken in the district are Hindu, Sindhi, Punjabi, Garhwali and Urdu.

 Religion-wise breakup of population is indicated below as per 1991 census:

  •     Hindus        :  8,74,760
  •     Muslims      :     98,748
  •     Christians   :       8,949
  •     Sikhs          :     30,417
  •     Buddhists  :        8,345
  •     Jains          :        4,159
  •     Others       :           301

Dehra  Dun can be divided into two distinct tracts i.e. the montane tract  and the sub-montane tract. The  montane tract covers whole Chakrata tehsil of the district  and  consists entirely  of  a  succession of mountains and  gorges  and  comprises  Jaunsar Bhabar. The mountains are very rough with steep slopes.  The most  important features of the tract is the ridge which separates the drainage are of Tons on the west from that of Yamuna on the east.

Below the montane tract follows the sub-montane tract, which is the famous Dun valley bounded by Shivalik hills in the south and outer scarp of the  Himalayas in the north.

The Siwalik (outer and lower ranges of Himalayas) lies at its feet, the outer- scrap  of  the  Himalayas bound it on  the north and the scared  Ganga and the Yamuna skirt in on the east and the west respectively.  The Ganga enters  the district  in  the  eastern Dun at Tapoban and meandering  south-west  goes  to Hardwar via Raiwala near Rishikesh.  The Yamuna enters the district in Jaunsar and  flows  southwards  for  about 32 kms on  the  south-east  border  of  the district.   Besides  Ganga  and  yamuna, the other rivers  that  flow  in  the district are Asan, Suswa, Tons, Rispana, Bindal and Amalava.