Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
Bishnupur District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the Bishnupur district

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Brief About Bishnupur District
The Bishnupur with its headquarter at Bishnupur (27 Km. from Imphal) was opened on 25-05-1983. Stretching between 93.43 º E and 93.53 º E Longitudes and 24.18 º N and 24.44 º N Latitudes the total geographical area of the District is 530 Sq. Km. It is bounded on the North by Imphal West District, on the South by Churachandpur District, on the East  by Imphal and Thoubal Districts. According to 1991 Census the total population of the district is 1,80,773 (91,125 males and 89,648 females) having a density  of 341 per Sq. Km. and literacy of 45 % (56% for males and 34% females). There are 64 Revenue villages in the District. For a better and convenient administration the District is divided into three Sub-Divisions , viz
(1) Bishnupur Sub-Division with its  HQ at Bishnupur and
(2) Moirang Sub-Division (opened on 12-12-83) with its HQ at Moirang and
(3) Nambol Sub-Division with its HQ at Nambol.

There are 6 (six) SDC Circles in the district. Nambol, Oinam and Bishnupur circles are situated within Bishnupur Sub-Division. Ningthoukhong, Moirang ang Kumbi circles are situated within Moirang Sub-Division. The population of Bishnupur and Moirang Sub -Divisions as per 1991 census is 91,781 and 88,991 respectively.Of the demographic pattern , the Manipuries Meiteis constitute the largest population followed by the tribals and Meitei Pangal ( Manipuri Muslims) . Splinter number of Biharis and Marwaris are temporarily settled in the district mainly for the busuiness professions. As for the convenience of developmental activities of the rural areas there are two C.D Blocks, namely

(1) Bishnupur C.D. Block with its HQ at Bishnupur and
(2) Moirang C.D Block with its HQ at Moirang Khunou. The Sub-Divisions are under the charge of one SDO each and the C.D Blocks are under the charge of one BDO each while the circles are under the charge of one SDC each.

There are 6 (Six) Assembly Constituencies, viz 24-Nambol A.C , 25- Oinam A.C, 26-Bishnupur A.C, 27- Moirang A.C, 28-Thanga A.C, and 29-Kumbi A.C . The number of Gram Panchayat is 24 (12 G.P each in one block). As for the Local Self Governmrnt, there are 4 (four) Municipalities namely 
(1) Nambol
(2) Bishnupur
(3) Ningthoukhong and
(4) Moirang