Enhance your image by sharing your name (Red patch of 99x104px) above. In addition, you get banner of 590px by 890 px shared below.
We will create a special page in this district folder where you can write about your initiatives and link the two banners to that page.

The amount will be a donation of Rs 3650/- to Developed Nation Network Trust which has 80 G & FCRA. You decide from following 4, where the entire donation will go to.
1) Ashray Akruti Foundation for disabled, 2) Late Wamanrao Oka Raktapedhi (Blood Bank), 3) Yamagarwadi school for nomadics, 4) Education of tribal zone in Thane.
Contact us by email and not by phone or mobile. (Editorial has clear policies on whose banners can be accepted)

Official Website : http://anantapur.gov.in

Headquarters : Anantapur
State : Andhra Pradesh

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
Total : 18753.11
Rural : 376.89
Urban : 19130

Population (Census 2011)
Population : 2935437
Rural : 1145711
Urban : 4081148
Male : 1489157
Female : 1446280
Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) : 971
Density (Total, Persons per sq km) : 157

Official Lnguage : Telugu, Urdu

Helplines :
1 Ambulance 108
2 Police 100
3 Fire 101
4 Health Information 104
5 Electricity Complaints 1912
6 RAILWAY ENQUIRY 08554-2310531912
7 RTC ENQUIRY 08554-231777 / 09959225866

Population (Census 2010) :
Anantapur district of Andhra Pradesh has total population of 4,081,148 as per the Census 2011.

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Anantpur District Information
Anantpur - Birthplace of Sri Satya Sai Baba - AP's biggest district

Historical Background
Anantapur District was formed in the year 1882 having been separated from Bellary district. Later on, it was expanded with the addition of Revenue Mandals of Kadiri, Mudigubba, Nallamada, N.P.Kunta, Talupula, Nallacheruvu, O.D.Cheruvu, Tanakal, Amadagur and Gandlapenta (previous Kadiri Taluk) from Cuddapah District in the year 1910. During the year 1956, the present Revenue Mandals of Rayadurg, D.Hirehal, Kanekal, Bommanahal and Gummagatta of Bellary District were added to Anantapur District. The District has been divided into 3 Revenue Divisions consisting of 63 Revenue Mandals (Anantapur Division 20, Dharmavaram Division 17 and Penukonda Division 26).

Boundaries and Topography
Anantapur District lies between 13'-40' and 15'-15 Northern Latitude and 76'-50' and 78'-30' Eastern Longitude. It is bounded by Bellary, Kurnool District on the North, Cuddapah and Kolar Districts of Karnataka on South East and North respectively. The District is roughly oblong in shape, the longer side running North to South with a portion of Chitradurg District of Karnataka State intruding into it from west between Kundurpi and Amarapuram Mandals.
The District may be divided into 3 Natural Divisions. They are 1) Northern Mandal of Rayadurg, Kanekal, Beluguppa Gooty, Guntakal, Vajrakarur, Uravakonda, Vidapanakal, Yadiki, Tadipatri, Putlur and Yellannur containing larger areas of Black Cotton soils 2) Kalyandurg, Kambadur, Settur, Brahmasamudram, Ramagiri, Kanaganapalli, C.K. Palli, Dharmavaram, Bathalapalli, Tadimarri, Mudigubba, Anantapur, Kudair, Pamidi and Peddavadugur in the center which are mainly made up of arid Treeless, expense of poor Red Soils, (3) High Level Land of Pendukonda, Roddam, Gudibanda and Agali which connects with Mysore plateau at higher elevation of the rest of the District. This part has average sandy red soils of normal productivity.

The Forests in the District are thin and scanty. The Muchukota Hills about 35 KMs. in length, run from North of Gooty Town upto extreme Southern Corner of Tadipatri and Yadiki Mandals. Another line of Hills starts from West of Gooty Mandal and run 80 KMs. called by name Nagasamudram Hills. The Mallappakonda Range begins at Dharmavaram and runs into Karnataka State. The Penukonda Range which starts in the South of Dharmavaram through Penukonda and Hindupur proceeds to Karnataka State. In Madakasira, the hills divides Rolla and Agali Mandals into Southern and Northern portions. There are numerous isolated Peaks and Rocky Clusters which are devoid of any vegetation. The height of some of these Hill Ranges are given below: Mallappakonda four Miles to North of Bukkapatnam : 3002 feet Penukonda : 3091 feet Kundurpi Durgam : 2996 feet Madakasira : 2936 feet

The important river in the District is Pennar. It has its origin in the Nandi Hills of Karnataka State where it is called "UTTARA PINAKINI" and enters this District in the extreme South of Hindupur Mandal and flows through Parigi, Roddam, Ramagiri, Kambadur, Kalyandurg, Beluguppa, Uravakonda,Vajrakarur,Pamidi, Peddavadugur, Peddapappur and Tadipatri Mandals and finally enters Cuddapah District.

Jayamangala River which has its origin in Karnataka State enters this District in Parigi Mandal and joins Pennar River at Sangameswarampalli of Parigi Mandal. Another significant river in the District is "CHITRAVATHI". Its origin is in Karnataka State . This river enters the District near Kodikonda village of Chilamathur Mandal and flows North over Rocky and Hilly uplands of Gorantla,Puttaparthi, Bukkapatnam, Kothacheruvu, C.K.Palli, Dharmavaram, Bathalapalli, Tadimarri and Yellanur Mandals and falls into Pennar River at Gandikota in Cuddapah District.