Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
Akola District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the Akola district

Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Akola District Information
Brief About Akola District
Akola is the city in the state of Maharashtra. Akola is the head quarter of Akola District located in Akola Division.

5,431 sq. km., population 1,629,305 (2001 census). Akola district in India is bounded on the north by Akola district, to the east by Akola district and by Washim district, to the south by Washim district, and to the west by Buldhana district. The district of Akola comprise of talukas namely Akot, Telhara, Akola, Balapur, Patur, Barshitakli and Murtajapur.

The Battle of Argaon, ( Adgaon near Akot ), took place on November 28, 1803, between the British under the command of Governer Arthur Wellesley and the forces of Maratha under Bhonsle of Nagpur during Second Anglo-Maratha War. Many old forts are located in Akola District viz. Narnala Fort Akot Fort Akola Fort Balapur Fort

The district boundary latitude are : N and longitude are : E The climate is tropical and people mostly uses cotton clothes. The Purna River forms the part of north boundary of the district, and the top north portion of the district lies within its watershed along with Aas River and Shahnur River. The Vaan River forms the part of northwest boundary of the district after entering from the Akola district. The Maan River drains the southwestern portion of the district, Morna River drains the midsouth portion of the district,while the southeast is drained by the Katepurna River and Uma River. Here are some of the rivers in Akola, with their tributaries Purna River Uma River Katepurna River Shahanur River Morna River Mann River Mas River Utawali River Vishwamitri River Nirguna River Gandhari River Aas River Vaan River

Important railway stations with their codes are Paras, Gaigaon, Akola Junction(AK), Murtajapur Junction (MZR) and are under Bhusawal-Badnera Section of Bhusawal Division of Central Railway. The other stations under meter gauge are Hiwarkhed(), Adgaon Buzurg(ABZ) , Akot(AKOT), Patsul(PTZ), Ugwe(UGWE), Akola Junction , Shivani Shivpur(SVW), Barshitakli(BSQ), Lohogad(LHD), Amna Vadi(AMW),Jaulka(JUK) are under Purna - Khandwa Section of South Central Railway. The stations under narrow gauge are Lakhpuri, Murtajapur Junction, Karanja under two Narrow Gauge Branch lines viz Murtajapur-Achalpur and Murtajapur-Yavatmal of Bhusawal Division of Central Railway. Cotton and Jawar are the predominant crops grown in the district. Oil and Dal mills are also rampant. Akola district forms the central part of Akola division, which corresponds to the former British Raj province of Berar.

Collector : 27 Akola, Collector Office Compound,Akola. 0724 / 2438281