Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
South Tripura District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the South Tripura district
Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Brief About South Tripura District
The State of Tripura was a princely state, and Maharaja Birbikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur was the last king. After the death of Maharaja Birbikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur in May 1947, a Council under the leadership of his widowed wife Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi took over the charge of the administration on behalf of minor prince Kirit Bikram. The monarchy came to an end on 9th Sept, 1947 and Tripura was merged with the Indian Union as a part 'C' State, administered by the Chief Commissioner. Tripura became a Union Territory on 1st November 1956. The territorial council was formed on 15th August 1959, which was later dissolved and a Legislative Assembly with a council of ministers was formed in July, 1963. Tripura became a full fledged state in 1972. Till 31st August 1970 the district administration was run by one Deputy Commissioner. On 1st September 1970, Tripura was divided into 3 (three) districts, namely, North Tripura, South Tripura and West Tripura. Later the fourth district called Dhalai was created which started functioning from 16th April,1995.


The South Tripura District with its headquarter at Udaipur was created in 1970. Udaipur is popularly known as the city of lakes and was the capital of Tripura till 1760 A.D. The city is famous for its Mata Tripura Sundari Temple which is situated about 3 km away from Udaipur at Matabari. The temple is one of the 51 Mahapithasthans of India. The legend is that toe of the right foot of Mata Sati fell, as a result of the cutting of the body of Mata Sati into pieces by Sudarsan Chakra of Lord Vishnu .


The State of Tripura lies approximately between the lattitudes 22 degrees 56 minutes, and 24 degrees 32 minutes North and between longitudes 91 degrees 0 minutes and 92 degrees 22 minutes East. South Tripura District is situated approximately between East longitude 91 degrees 18 minutes and 91 degrees 59 minutes and between North lattitude 22 degres 56 minutes and 23 degrees 45 minutes. The South Tripura District is bounded on the North by Dhalai district and West Tripura District, while on the other sides by international border with Bangladesh. The total geographical area of South Tripura District is 2624 Sq.km which is about 25% of the total state area.


The climate of the District is mostly warm and is characterized by a humid summer and a dry cool winter with plenty of rains during July to October. Rainfall is received from the South -West Monsoon, which normally breaks in the month of May. Hailstorm generally occurs during the month of April & May, occasionally causing damage to the field crops. Autumn and Spring are of very short duration. Average annual rainfall in the district is about 2000 mm and the temperature varies between a maximum of 35.23° and a minimum of 7.43° Celsius. The variation in temperature is much lower during the rains than during any other season.