Any individual or organisation can sponsor this district. We can change the above banner design for them (Size will be 1004 x 104 px). Contact Datacentre
Salem District

Current Time in New Delhi

District site map

District celebrities
Identity of the district
Social issues in the district
Sponsor information
Communicate Datcentre
You are important
You are just 1 person and there are 7.6 billion persons in this world. But YOU have a definite role
Poverty is important
Please lift at least one person from below the poverty line to above the poverty line in your life or registered WILL 
Bhau made us realise : Vishwachi Maze Ghar
28.08.2013 as black day for us, but good for all the countries & universe
See NGOs where you can SHOP and not just help the NGO but its benefitieries
Brand enhancement
Ashoka Fellow
If you want your name on the district index page, click here.
About the Salem district
Click on the following link to download district statistics as per NITI Ayog website

Brief About Salem District
The Date of human civilization in this district reaches far back to the stone ages.     

The existence of prehistoric culture in Salem is evident from the discovery of Paleolithic and Neolithic stone implements and dung ash heaps in and around Salem.  A concise chronology of the district is presented.

3rd Century B.C. 

The period of Bogar – a notable Tamil Siddhar. Arrival of Buddhism and Jainism in Salem.

1st Century A.D. Around the beginning of the Christian era, the existence of a culturally and economically advanced society in Salem two thousand years ago is evident from the discovery of silver coins of the Roman Emperor Tiberices  Claudices Nero (37-68) in Koneripatti of Salem in 1987.
2nd Century A.D. Pandiyan dynasty rules Salem.   Pandiyan Nedunchezhiyan Kanaikal Irumporai rules Kolli Malai.  
4th Century A.D. Rise of Pallava dynasty in Salem.  
6th Century A.D. Period of Mahendra Varma Pallva Raise of Saivite principles.
7th Century A.D. Weakening of Buddhism & Jainism.  Period of Narasimha Varma Pallava.
8th Century A.D. Pandiyan dynasty in Salem.
9th Century A.D. Raise of Saiva samayam and fading away of Jainism and Buddhism. Raise of Pallava.
10th Century A.D. Raise of Chozha dynasty and decline of Pallavas.
11th Century A.D. Chozha rule.
12th Century A.D. Rise of Hoysala rule in parts of Salem.  
13th Century AD. Hoysala rule established; parts of Salem remained under Pandiyan dynasty.
14th Century A.D. 1310 Malikkafur goes through Salem 1368- Salem under Vijaya Nagar Empire
15th Century A .D. The Chalukya rule.  Raise of Palyakarars.
16th Century A.D. Rule of Madurai Nayakars.   Rule of Emperor Krishnadheva Raya in part of Salem including Attur.  
17th Century A.D. Rise of local chieftains Gatti and Nayakas.Palayakara  rule.  
18th Centrury A.D. Rule of Hyder Ali and Tipu sultan Taking over by British. 1772 – First Collector to Salem.  

19th Century A.D.: 

1856 New Revenue survey under taken ; Settlement department established. End of company rule and Taking over by British Crown.  
1860 Salem city as capital of District  
1862 Salem Central Jail built.
1866-67 Severe   famine.  (A series of famines and epidemics)  
1875 Cholera epidemic rages.  
1876-78  The Great famine
1891-92 Another famine. 
1896-97 Last famine of the century.  

20th Century: 

Developmental activities in Salem like Constructing railways and Ghat roads and construction of Mettur dam.

1947 -  Salem is a independent part of Free India.

1951 – Exchange of villages between Mysore and Madras State took place under the provinces and states (Absorption of Enclaves) order 1950.

1961- Sankari Taluk was formed from Tiruchengode Taluk. 

1965- Salem district was bifurcated into Salem – Dharmapuri districts (2-10-1965)

Salem constituted 8 Taluks – Salem , Attur, Yercaud, Omalur ,Sankari, Tiruchengode, Rasipuram and Namakkal.

Dharmapuri constituted 4 Taluks – Hosur, Krishnagiri , Harur and Dharmapuri.

1966- Mettur Taluk was formed from Omalur Taluk and Salem constituted Nine taluks.

1989 – Paramathi Velur Taluk was newly formed.

1997 – Salem District was bifurcated into Salem and Namakkal district (2.2.1997).  Salem constituted 8 Taluks  - Salem, Yercaud, Attur, Omalur, Mettur, Sankari, Gangavalli, and Idappadi and Namakkal district constituted 4 Taluks - Namakkal, Tiruchengode, Rasipuram and Paramathi-Velur

1998 – Attur Division was newly formed and a new Taluk Valappadi was formed. Salem attained its present administrative set-up.